From the Principal

Principal Blog – Week 1

There are some planned changes for the year, part of which involves a number of staff members taking on new responsibilities.

I believe one of the hallmarks of the health of any organisation is the preparedness of staff to apply for leadership roles. I am very pleased to say that at Salesian many staff have put themselves forward for Position of Leadership (POL) positions to serve our community.

“You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hidden. No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.” (Mt 5, 14-17)

I am very grateful to all those who made application for positions of leadership during the process in Term 2, 2021. I know the significant investment of time and emotional energy it taken to put oneself forward for these roles all the while understanding the uncertainty of the outcome.

Thank you to our staff, led by our 2021 Acting Principal Mr Neil Carter, who conduct interviews and discerned who will lead in various areas of College life.

Congratulations to the successful candidates and I wish them all the very best as they take on these important roles. Each will be well supported in their leadership.

Staff who will have Positions of Leadership for the next two years include:

Director of Staff Development Sarah Roberts
Dean of Middle School Byron Chen
Dean of Senior School Kim Beurs
Head of Learning Diversity Freda Pahomis
Year 7 Co-ordinator Heath Chipperfield
Year 8 Co-ordinator Craig Giles
Year 9 Co-ordinator Paul Azar
Assistant Year 9 Co-ordinator Anthony Anastasio
Year 10 Co-ordinator Lexi Tsiavis
Year 11 Co-ordinator Chris Ryan
Year 12 Co-ordinator Deb Rabot
Head of House – Annecy Georgina Dow
Head of House – Collinson Dylan Chow
Head of House – Moroney Styron Augustus
Head of House – Savio Chris Donaldson
Head of English Monique Capomolla
Head of Mathematics Mark Wang
Head of Humanities Rachel Holland
Head of Science Emma Marsh
Head of Religious Education Daryl Barclay
Head of Arts Roslyn Aylward
Head of LOTE Alvin Zhang
Head of Human Development Stuart Hill
Head of Technology Fatima Nazar
Head of Performance Adam Croft
Head of Sport Steve Loonstra
Sports Academy Coordinator Stephen Sellwood
Biretta Program Coordinator Nick Shaw
Data Mentor Simon Dorrat
Literacy Mentor Adele Belizia
PBL / PrBL Mentor Emma Bradley
Student Leadership Co-ordinators Georgina Dow, Dylan Chow
VCE Co-ordinator Atul Khambete
Head of Applied Learning Kathryn Zwalf
Pathways Co-ordinator Damian McAuliffe
Social Justice Promotions Co-ordinator Angela Liyanage
Liturgy Co-Ordinator Gazielle Pinilli
Retreat Co-Ordinator Mikayla Domini
Year 9 Project Officer Abby Miliesi
Public Speaking Coordinator Molly O’Shea
Materials Technology Key Teacher Angela Xu
Technology Key Teacher Andrew Cho
Immersion Coordinator Chris Seeber

I also extend a warm welcome to new and returning staff to the College. I trust that they will be welcomed by our students, staff and families into the community and that they find joy in the experience with our Salesian charism.

Below is a list of new and returning staff to the College in 2022.

New Staff
Melissa Adela Music
Lucyanne Aguis Food Technology Assistant and LDO
Thomas Andrews RE, English and Humanities
Daryl Barclay English, Oratory , Religious Education
Andrew Cho Food Technology
Nicholas Dunmill Accounting and Mathematics
Jayden Hawkes Mathematics and Science
Sharp Helen Canteen Assistant
Molly Hermon Oratory, English, Humanities
Holly Kavanagh Outdoor Education Assistant
Joseph Kelly Cello Teacher
Georgia Ketels Content Coordinator
Joyce McGrath English/Eal
Rupi Narwal Oratory, Science
Ashley O’Brien Food Technology
Dane Rogers Oratory, Humanities
Brett Ruehland Counsellor
Owen Stephens VCE Maths and Physics
Rachel Stephens English
Ben Talko Learning Diversity Officer
Returning Staff
Tara Kimstra Adele Belizia
Lachlan Dwyer Sarah Roberts
Ria Khambete David McDonald